My Plumber Didn’t Make this House Call

How I saved the £50 callout charge.

Holiday task – annoyingly iffy toilet flush, it worked if you tickled it just right, but that was tedious. So I had a look, and found the diaphragm was torn:

Went to Wickes for replacement as it looked as if those little white discs were welded down so needing a whole new part. While waiting ever so patiently for Customer Service advice, I got out my knife and had a bit of a prod.  It all came apart. Went home.

Search for a bit of plastic the right thickness and flexibility. Carrier bags no, even lifelong ones. Found an old CD cover:

Five minutes later:

Caramba!

It works too. Every time, no tickling.

What shall I spend that £50 on?

.

Leave a Reply

